CCMS Calendar for Events/Seminars/Colloquia

Select event type to filter by
Tuesday February 4, 2014
Wednesday February 5, 2014
Saturday February 8, 2014
Start: 10:00 am
End: 12:00 pm

 

Abstract: Knot theory is a field of mathematics that studies how strings can be tied in different kinds of knots. Knots have applications in many different areas of science and technology, from chemistry and biology to physics and engineering. In this activity, we will see some of the tools mathematicians use to distinguish different kinds of knots.

Tuesday February 11, 2014
Wednesday February 12, 2014
Tuesday February 18, 2014
Wednesday February 19, 2014
Thursday February 20, 2014
Tuesday February 25, 2014
Wednesday February 26, 2014

Claremont Graduate University | Claremont McKenna | Harvey Mudd | Pitzer | Pomona | Scripps
Proudly Serving Math Community at the Claremont Colleges Since 2007
Copyright © 2018 Claremont Center for the Mathematical Sciences

Syndicate content